• Riders at the startline of Stage 3 of the 2017 Jayco Herald Sun Tour. Image: Con Chronis.
    Riders at the startline of Stage 3 of the 2017 Jayco Herald Sun Tour. Image: Con Chronis.

US Sprinter Travis McCabe Wins SunTour Stage 3 - All Or Nothing For Orica-Scott On Today's Final Stage

Comments Comments

US fast-man Travis McCabe of UnitedHealthcare enjoyed a comfortable sprint victory at the Mitchelton Winery to take Stage 3 of the Jayco Herald Sun Tour on Saturday.

McCabe navigated his way through the crash-marred final kilometres of the stage to finish close to two bike lengths ahead of Orica-Scott’s Mitch Docker. Leigh Howard of Aqua Blue Sport finished third.

Damien Howson of ORICA-Scott retains the overall lead with a 38-second buffer. He was was spared from having his advantage diminish after being caught behind a series of crashes. The commissaires later awarded him bunch time. Jai Hindley of the KordaMentha Australian National Team remains second overall with Kenny Elissonde of Team Sky is a further 15 seconds back in third.

Sunday's Final Stage  

The course of ‘Let’s Go Motorhomes’ Stage 4 is the stunning conclusion to the toughest Jayco Herald Sun Tour seen in years.

It’s a new stage, but one that is familiar to any cyclist who has spent time in Melbourne. The 121km stage comprises of four laps around a Kinglake circuit and will decide who takes home the yellow jersey.

The climb is seven kilometres long and the last lap is expected to take around 14 minutes. The circuit format will require teams attempting to put their leader on the podium to be highly vigilant. Could a darkhorse cause an upset? One thing's for sure, it will be a thrilling finale.

Sunday's final stage will be streamed online - We will bring you a link to the action via the Bicycling Australia Facebook page.

comments powered by Disqus

Mountain Biking Australia

Australia's tallest bike park is prepping for its first ever festival event.

New trails set to boost Thredbo's trail network across the park.

Last lap drama for top New Zealanders, but success eludes Aussie Commonwealth Games riders at Nerang.