• Daryl Impey celebrates after winning the 100% sponsored Stage 4 of the TDU. Image: Sirotti
    Daryl Impey celebrates after winning the 100% sponsored Stage 4 of the TDU. Image: Sirotti

Every Second Counts: Daryl Impey Wins Stage 4 Of The TDU

Comments Comments

Reigning Tour Down Under Champion Daryl Impey has won Stage 4 of this year’s event in sensational style, the Mitchelton-Scott rider crossing just ahead of overall race leader Patrick Bevin of CCC.

With two stages to go Bevin retains the Ochre Jersey but Impey is now just 7-seconds back in second place. 2005 Tour Down Under winner Luis Leon Sanchez holds third position, 11-seconds behind the leader.

Looking measured and confident, Impey said he was pleased to pick up bonus seconds yesterday and obviously was thrilled to secure the Stage 4 win, but was still wary of Sunday’s Willunga stage.

“I need to be 20 seconds ahead of Richie Porte and Michael Woods before Willunga,” Impey said before the start of the stage. 

“I’m still confident, I’m in good shape. If I’m there today with a select group of climbers it’s a good one for me to win.”

Win he did, and convincingly with the downhill sprint to the line among fellow combatants Bevin, Sanchez, Ruben Guerrero, Ruben Fernandez, George Bennett, Diego Ulissi, Michael Woods and Chris Hamilton.

Impey celebrates as he takes the win of Stage 4 of the 2019 TDU. Image: Sirotti.

Speaking after the presentation, Impey said gaining 7-seconds on race leader Patrick Bevin would still be difficult and Sunday’s Willunga finale will be the ultimate decider.

“I think we have to be aggressive wherever we can,” said Impey.

“There’s no doubt that trying to win this race is based on seconds, we learnt that last year, so we’re going to have to try to take our opportunities and make things happen and hopefully it pays off.”

The peloton make their way along Adelaide's South Eastern Freeway shortly after the start of Stage 4 of the TDU. Image: Sirotti.

Stage 4 Results

1. Daryl Impey (Mitchelton-SCOTT) 3:03:27

2. Patrick Bevin (CCC Team)

3. Luis-Leon Sanchez (Astana Pro Team) 

General Classification after Stage 4

1. Patrick Bevin (CCC Team) 13:23:30

2. Daryl Impey (Mitchelton-SCOTT) +0:07

3. Luis Leon Sanchez (Astana Pro Team) +0:11


comments powered by Disqus

Mountain Biking Australia

Merida Global have announced the launch of their new MY2020 models for the second half of 2019.

Riders will be able to test out the new Awaba Mountain Bike Park in a matter of weeks after an opening date of 21 July was announced.