Peter Sagan Storms To Historic Third Victory In Gent-Wevelgem

Comments Comments

Peter Sagan picked up his third victory in the Gent-Wevelgem with a storming finish on Sunday. The Slovakian, who joins Tom Boonen, Mario Cipollini, Eddy Merckx, Rik Van Looy and Robert Van Eenaeme as a three-time winner, headed off competition from Elia Viviani and Arnaud Demare in the final yards after Quick-Step Floors controlled the race.

Peter Sagan celebrates his histroric third ever win of Saturday's classic.Image: Sirotti.

Sagan, the world champion, had been questioned after he finished in 26th place in E3 Harelbeke, but now heads into the Tour of Flanders next week in fine form after launching his spring early, some 200m from the finish.

Viviani was clearly upset at not being able to catch Sagan, with the Italian - supported by three of Quick Step's riders in the final group - boxed in at the start of the sprint.

Top 10

1. Peter Sagan (SVK) Bora-Hansgrohe

2. Elia Viviani (ITA) Quick-Step Floors

3. Arnaud Démare (FRA) FDJ

4. Christophe Laporte (FRA) Cofidis, Solutions Credits

5. Jens Debuscchere (BEL) Lotto Soudal

6. Oliver Naesen (BEL) AG2R La Mondiale

7. Matteo Trentin (ITA) Mitchelton-Scott

8. Zdenek Stybar (CZE) Quick-Step Floors

9. Jasper Stuyven (BEL) Trek-Segafredo

10. Wout Van Aert (BEL) Veranda's Willems Crelan

comments powered by Disqus

Mountain Biking Australia

Australia's tallest bike park is prepping for its first ever festival event.

New trails set to boost Thredbo's trail network across the park.

Last lap drama for top New Zealanders, but success eludes Aussie Commonwealth Games riders at Nerang.